Music by al

I've been playing music professionally since the late 20th century. I lead Musica Universalis, an acoustic (primarily European medieval/baroque) ensemble, and perform regularly with a number of folk and ethnic ensembles, including Klez Project, Rosetree, The Playford Gang and the Cornell University Klezmer Ensemble.

My primary instruments are clarinet, Irish whistles and guitar. I also play oboe, Turkish saz and various percussion instruments, and received two years of training in Hindustani music on the sitar. The genres I typically play include Celtic, klezmer, Scandinavian, early European, folk and bluegrass.

I can be contacted at .


Recent & Upcoming Performances:

Date/Time Group Event Venue Location
Sat Sep 6
Musica Universalis Bards and Bows Camp Sertoma Windsor, NY
Sat Sep 20 Cornell University Klezmer Ensemble "Feed My Starving Children" musical variety show St. Johnís Episcopal Church Ithaca, NY
Wed Sep 24 Playford Gang English Country Dance Christ Church Binghamton, NY
Tue Sep 30 Cornell University Klezmer Ensemble concert Hans Bethe House, Cornell University Ithaca, NY
Wed Oct 8 Playford Gang English Country Dance Christ Church Binghamton, NY
Wed Oct 22 Playford Gang English Country Dance Christ Church Binghamton, NY
Fri Oct 24
Rosetree Tompkins County Country Dances Bethel Grove Community Center
Sat Oct 25
Klez Project private celebration Congregation Kol Ami Elmira, NY Ithaca, NY
Wed Nov 5 Playford Gang English Country Dance Christ Church Binghamton, NY
Sat Nov 8
Klez Project Cranberry Coffeehouse Unitarian Universalist Congregation Binghamton, NY
Sat Nov 15 Klezmer Kings fundraiser Morgan Opera House Aurora, NY
Sat Feb 7 Rosetree Contra Dance Trinity Memorial Church Binghamton, NY

"Melnick's Bulgar" performed with the Cornell University Klezmer at Willard Chapel in Auburn, NY.

last updated 7 October 2014