allen lutins - folk/ethnic musician

guitar

I've been playing music professionally since the late 20th century. I lead Musica Universalis, an acoustic (primarily European medieval/baroque) ensemble, and perform regularly with a number of folk and ethnic ensembles, including Klez Project, Rosetree, The Playford Gang and the Cornell University Klezmer Ensemble.

My primary instruments are clarinet, Irish whistles and guitar. I also play oboe, Turkish saz and various percussion instruments, and received two years of training in Hindustani music on the sitar. The genres I typically play include Celtic, klezmer, Scandinavian, early European, folk and bluegrass.

I can be contacted at contact.

clarinet

Upcoming Performances:

Date/Time Group Event Venue Location
Wed May 20 Playford Gang English Country Dance Christ Church Binghamton, NY
Sun May 31   presentation on klezmer music Temple Concord Binghamton, NY
Wed Jun 3 Playford Gang English Country Dance Christ Church Binghamton, NY
Sat Jun 13
7 pm
Rosetree Binghamton Contra Dance Trinity Memorial Church Binghamton, NY
Sat Jun 20
10:30 - noon
Rosetree Otsiningo Farmer's Market Otsiningo Park Binghamton, NY
Sun Jun 27
time TBA
Musica Universalis New York Faerie Festival Market Stage Ouaquaga, NY
Tue Jul 21
7:30 pm
Klez Project Free Summer Concert Series Kiplinger Theatre, Schwartz Center for the Performing Arts Ithaca, NY
Sat Jul 25
Klezmer Kings private celebration Wells College Aurora, NY
Sat Aug 15
Klezmer Kings Concert Morgan Opera House Aurora, NY
Sun Sep 20 Cornell University Klezmer Ensemble performance Willard Chapel Auburn, NY
Fri Nov 6 Rosetree Cooperstown Contra Dance First Presbyterian Church Cooperstown, NY

"Melnick's Bulgar" performed with the Cornell University Klezmer at Willard Chapel in Auburn, NY.

last updated 20 May 2015